Skip to Content
Hallock Law Hallock Law
FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION 888-412-3741 | 312-487-2441
Top
Driving on Suspended License/Revoked License
  • Your Rights Matter
    Attorney Hallack understands that clients need a combination of aggressive yet compassionate counsel at this time.
  • Genuine. Diligent. Ethical.
    Don't choose a Chicago defense lawyer who is in it for the money. I genuinely want to help you straighten out your life!
  • Free Case Consultation
    When the stakes are high, you will need a defense strategy that can aggressively and effectively combat any allegations!

Chicago Driving on Suspended or Revoked License
Defense Attorney

Driving on a suspended or revoked license under 625 ILCS 5/6-303 is a common charge in Illinois. Although the charge may seem insignificant at first, it is a crime that may result in large fines and even jail time.

Illinois Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License

At a minimum, driving while your license is suspended is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries penalties of up to 1 year in jail and fines of up to $2,500. However, driving on a suspended license may be a felony depending on the circumstances and the reason your license was initially suspended.

For example, if you are caught driving after your license was suspended because of a DUI, and you have a prior suspension on your driving record (court supervision or a conviction), you may be charged with a Class 4 felony that is punishable by 1-3 years in prison.

In Illinois, common reasons for a suspended driver’s license include:

Contact Thomas C. Hallock if you need a skilled and committed suspended or revoked driver's license defense attorney in Chicago.‚Äč
Request a free consultation by calling (888) 412-3741.

Types of Criminal Defense Cases I Handle

Helpful Tips From Me To You

How To Properly Exercise Your Constitutional Rights
  • What You Should Do
    • Be respectful.
    • Calmly record the interaction.
    • Ask if you are free to leave. If you do not ask, the officer may think - and the judge may agree - that the interaction is consensual.
    • If you are free to leave, go! If you are not free to leave, do not answer and questions before speaking with your attorney.
  • What You Should Not Do
    • Do not physically resist arrest.
    • Do not become aggressive or confrontational.
    • Do not consent to a search. The Constitution does not apply if you consent.
    • Do not answer questions without first speaking with your attorney. Police are allowed to hold you for 48 hours and they may lie to you the entire time.
Hallock Law is Ready to Help You 24/7 Contact Us at (888) 412-3741 Today