Skip to Content
Hallock Law Hallock Law
FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION 888-412-3741 | 312-487-2441
Firearm Purchase
  • Your Rights Matter
    Attorney Hallack understands that clients need a combination of aggressive yet compassionate counsel at this time.
  • Genuine. Diligent. Ethical.
    Don't choose a Chicago defense lawyer who is in it for the money. I genuinely want to help you straighten out your life!
  • Free Case Consultation
    When the stakes are high, you will need a defense strategy that can aggressively and effectively combat any allegations!

How can You Buy a Firearm in Chicago?

Once you have successfully obtained your Chicago Firearm Owners Identification Card (FOID), you are ready to purchase a firearm. You can go to a licensed business to choose which firearm is best suited to your needs, or you are permitted to buy from a private seller. Once you purchase your firearm, it is important that you handle it properly and that you have a concealed carry permit should you want to transport it.

If you find yourself arrested for a gun-related offense, you have the right to arm yourself with an experienced Chicago criminal defense attorney. Your rights matter, and you deserve full legal justice. Thomas C. Hallock is a Chicago criminal defense attorney who will provide you with skillful, aggressive, and effective legal representation

How are Firearms Sold in Illinois?

A license is necessary for businesses to sell firearms in the state of Illinois. Anyone who comes into a firearm shop and purchases a firearm will not walk away with it immediately. There are mandatory wait times, and to avoid a legal battle, the seller must adhere to them.

Some weapons are more difficult than others to categorize. When a gun shop made mistakes with the way they define a specific gun, incorrect waiting times led to extensive legal issues. In 2019, the waiting time mandates changed. Now, all guns come with a 72-hour wait time. Typically, the clock starts after you fill out all your necessary paperwork and when your background check is submitted to the state by the seller. Because background checks expire in 30 days, a purchaser can pick up a gun in as little as three days, but no more than 29 days.

Prospective gun owners can also buy guns from a private party. When this happens, the Department of the State Police must be given notification. The seller is required to give the DSP information regarding the identity of the purchaser and they also must give their own FOID number. It is up to the DSP to approve or deny the sale.

Owning a firearm is a big responsibility. Simply having a firearm puts you at increased risk that you could be arrested and charged with unlawful use of a weapon (UUW). UUW is applicable to a vast amount of different weapons. However, UUW charges in Chicago are most commonly associated with firearms. When you are arrested and charged with UUW, you need an effective legal defense strategy. A knowledgeable Chicago firearms defense attorney will know exactly how to examine your case and formulate a strong defense that will yield you the best possible outcome.

Speak With an Experienced Illinois Criminal Attorney Today

Do not delay in connecting with a resourceful Chicago criminal defense attorney when you are facing life-changing fines and prison time for a crime. Hallock Law, Inc. is a trusted Illinois criminal defense firm. Call Thomas C. Hallock to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation at (312) 487-2441 for local residents or toll-free at (888) 412-3741.

Types of Criminal Defense Cases I Handle

Helpful Tips From Me To You

How To Properly Exercise Your Constitutional Rights
  • What You Should Do
    • Be respectful.
    • Calmly record the interaction.
    • Ask if you are free to leave. If you do not ask, the officer may think - and the judge may agree - that the interaction is consensual.
    • If you are free to leave, go! If you are not free to leave, do not answer and questions before speaking with your attorney.
  • What You Should Not Do
    • Do not physically resist arrest.
    • Do not become aggressive or confrontational.
    • Do not consent to a search. The Constitution does not apply if you consent.
    • Do not answer questions without first speaking with your attorney. Police are allowed to hold you for 48 hours and they may lie to you the entire time.
Hallock Law is Ready to Help You 24/7 Contact Us at (888) 412-3741 Today