Chicago Driving on Suspended or Revoked License
Driving on a suspended or revoked license under 625 ILCS 5/6-303 is a common
charge in Illinois. Although the charge may seem insignificant at first,
it is a crime that may result in large fines and even jail time.
Illinois Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License
At a minimum, driving while your license is suspended is a Class A
misdemeanor, which carries penalties of up to 1 year in jail and fines of up to $2,500.
However, driving on a suspended license may be a
felony depending on the circumstances and the reason your license was initially
For example, if you are caught driving after your license was suspended
because of a DUI, and you have a prior suspension on your driving record
(court supervision or a conviction), you may be charged with a Class 4
felony that is punishable by 1-3 years in prison.
In Illinois, common reasons for a suspended driver’s license include:
Contact Thomas C. Hallock if you need a skilled and committed suspended or revoked driver's
license defense attorney in Chicago.
free consultation by calling (888) 412-3741.